§757. Budget committee membership districts

1. Redistricting process. The county commissioners shall review the districts established in subsection 2 and, if changes are necessary, prepare a redistricting plan for county budget committee seats by June 1, 2031 and every 10 years thereafter. The county commissioners shall submit any redistricting plan to the Secretary of State within 5 days of adoption. If redistricting is required, the Secretary of State shall immediately transmit the redistricting plan to the Legislature for review and enactment.

[PL 2021, c. 573, §1 (AMD).]

- **2. Budget committee districts.** Budget committee members must be elected from districts as provided in this subsection.
 - A. District 1 consists of Isle au Haut, Matinicus Isle Plantation, North Haven, St. George, Friendship and the unorganized territory of Criehaven and elects one member. The initial term for District 1 expires on December 31, 2016. [PL 2017, c. 248, §8 (AMD).]
 - B. District 2 consists of South Thomaston, Vinalhaven and Owls Head and elects one member. The initial term for District 2 expires on December 31, 2014. [PL 2013, c. 481, §2 (RPR).]
 - C. District 3 consists of Rockland and elects 2 members at large. The initial term for District 3 expires on December 31, 2016. [PL 2013, c. 481, §2 (RPR).]
 - D. District 4 consists of Camden and elects one member. The initial term for District 4 expires on December 31, 2014. [PL 2013, c. 481, §2 (RPR).]
 - E. District 5 consists of Rockport and Hope and elects one member. The initial term for District 5 expires on December 31, 2016. [PL 2013, c. 481, §2 (RPR).]
 - F. District 6 consists of Appleton, Union and Washington and elects one member. The initial term for District 6 expires on December 31, 2014. [PL 2013, c. 481, §2 (RPR).]
 - G. District 7 consists of Warren and elects one member. The initial term for District 7 expires on December 31, 2016. [PL 2013, c. 481, §2 (RPR).]
 - H. District 8 consists of Thomaston and Cushing and elects one member. The initial term for District 8 expires on December 31, 2014. [PL 2013, c. 481, §2 (RPR).]

[PL 2017, c. 248, §8 (AMD).]

3. District 3.

[PL 1993, c. 345, §5 (RP).]

4. District 4.

[PL 1993, c. 345, §5 (RP).]

5. District 5.

[PL 1993, c. 345, §5 (RP).]

6. District 6.

[PL 1993, c. 345, §5 (RP).]

7. District 7.

[PL 1993, c. 345, §5 (RP).]

8. District 8.

[PL 1993, c. 345, §5 (RP).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1991, c. 257 (NEW). PL 1991, c. 548, §C6 (AMD). PL 1993, c. 345, §5 (RPR). PL 1993, c. 565, §1 (RPR). PL 2013, c. 481, §§1, 2 (AMD). PL 2017, c. 248, §8 (AMD). PL 2021, c. 573, §1 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.